Crime Fiction in Gdansk: Day Three (and Four)

K. A. Laity

2014-09-11 19.09.33

It’s the little things that make a difference. I liked the attempt to give the authentic feel of a crime scene to the conference area.

2014-09-11 14.01.31 Although rat poison in the loo might have been overdoing it… O.O

Good thing I resisted the urge to call these posts “Gdansking Lessons” which I was temped to do, following in Vonnegut’s footsteps (“Peculiar travel suggestions are dancing lessons from God.”). After the late night, I nonetheless managed to get up early and have a hearty breakfast before heading to campus one Paul short (I had already arranged the day before to change my name by deed poll to “Where’s Paul?” because that’s what everyone called me most of the time).

I got some tea, got my Powerpoint slides up and then launched into my talk on Dorothy Hughes’ In A Lonely Place, a too-often overlooked classic of noir. I was surprised how…

View original post 873 more words

Leave a Reply

